Pocha Pride: Cynthia Soto’s Artesanal Shop For Pets Celebrates Pride

As a daughter of Mexican immigrants and member of the LGBTQAI community, Cynthia Soto is very familiar with derogatory terms. She has reclaimed power over the common term, pocha or pocho, used to describe Mexican Americans by other Mexicans who felt children of immigrants were too Americanized and not Mexican enough as a way to demean them. With the launch of Pocha Shop Artesanal in Chicago to dress and cater to your loving pets, her inspiring business story birthed during the pandemic caught the attention of CBS Chicago, Block Club Chicago, WGN Radio, Modern Brown Girl, Economic Strategies Development Corporation, and Univision Chicago.

Celebrating Pride at Pocha

Pocha Shop is most celebrated for its nod to Latinx culture in America including images of icons like Selena Quintanilla and Bad Bunny. Cynthia’s partnership with her best friend, Jessamyn Gonzalez Carrasco, to feature products from Jessamyn’s Benito Moda MX shop in Guadalajara, Jalisco, elevates fabrics like embroidered outfits and traditional camabaya, originating from Mexico, for your pets.

Pocha Shop celebrated Pride with a sale the entire month of June. Shop now to support this Latina LGBTQAI owned business.

In addition to reclaiming the power over pocha, Cynthia is committed to following her heart by making decisions focused on pursuing her own happiness instead of trying to please everyone else. She celebrates Mexican culture, pride, and inclusion by incorporating LGBTQAI culture into the pet clothes she features at Pocha Shop such as rainbows, or statements like “Love is love,” and “I love my two mommies.” 

Children of Mexican immigrants understand the dichotomy of different cultures they simultaneously embrace. Most are aware of circumstances that limited their parents in education and diverse perspectives. Mexican immigrants are also predominantly raised in a conservative, religious, and patriarchal culture. Many children of Mexican immigrants struggle to honor their parent’s perspectives as well as break away from limiting ideologies that inhibit their pursuit of happiness.

Challenging Gender Norms

Most Latina women struggle with comments that enable gender norms and expectations. Some of the most common being: 

“Te ves mas bonita calladita |
You look prettier when you’re quiet.” 

“Las mujeres no pueden hacer eso. |
Women can’t do that.”

“Van ha pensar que eres… |
They’re going to think you are.. (gay).” 

Cynthia (left) and girlfriend Hanna (right)

Cynthia is one of the mujeres poderosas who continues to challenge the culture that limits Mexican American women to pursue their truth and dreams. Despite having family who misunderstand her, she has persevered to proudly celebrate Pride at Pocha Shop and educate her family members and community about acceptance.

Q&A With Cynthia
What was it like to come out to your parents? 

I personally never came out to my parents. Family members outed me to my dad. He decided to not speak to me and kicked me out of his parents’ house, where I was living at the time. It was a really hard couple of months for me. My dad and I always had a very close relationship ever since my parents divorced. During those difficult months, it really broke me inside not to speak to him but I knew that I couldn’t change who I was. 

After a few months passed, I built the courage to call him and we worked things out after a long and serious talk. I remember him saying “I don’t care if your gay, just do things the correct way.” I know that my father would’ve never really cared if I was part of the LGBTQ+ community. I am almost certain what upset him were lies my family members told him that probably scared him. 

What were your biggest fears about speaking your truth?

I initially feared never speaking with my father again. Other fears I experience on an almost daily basis are homophobic people. I hear and have seen people yell homophobic slurs. I know of friends who have been beaten because of their sexual orientation. I love to travel but, everytime I do, I always research if the place is LGBTQ+ friendly. If I don’t know, I will be cautious to be as “straight” as possible. 

What inspired you to speak your truth?

I feel like I have shaped my own path in life because I am a first-generation Mexican American. I never understood or followed what my family members did in Mexico, and I always felt like I shouldn’t. I always had a strong feeling in my heart to do what was best for me and to do what made me happy. 

I had a very challenging and confusing childhood and teenage years as a Mexican American woman who is part of the LGBTQ+ community. My personal experience shaped how, as an adult, I feel it is important to share my past for other Mexican American people in the same situation.  

How do you feel Pocha Shop can shape the upbringing of Pilsen children who are part of the LGBTQAI community?

Pocha Shop is definitely a safe place, where we do not judge. I believe that having a store that includes both Mexican designs and LGBTQ+ designs will give children the opportunity to see that we can embrace who we truly are with our culture. 

How long did it take for your family to come around?  

My immediate family came around within a year. I only speak to a handful of aunts, uncles, and cousins. They were the ones that never questioned anything about it. 

How do you identify? 

I am a lesbian. My pronouns are She/Her.

Share Your Voice & Support Local Businesses

Support local businesses like Pocha Shop Artesanal. We are so grateful to Cynthia Soto for this impactful Q&A to be featured on our VOICES blog. 

We honor the pain and fight towards equality the LGBTQAI community has endured for many years not so long ago to be able to celebrate Pride. If you or anyone you know is in need of resources for support and assistance, please do not hesitate to contact NIOT Daniel Island.

Veronica Montes is a writer and content strategist. She is a proud first-generation Mexican American woman, mujer poderosa, and spiritual warrior. Read more of her work on Medium.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started