Links for Learning: What Do I Do, When I Don’t Know What To Do To End Systemic And Institutionalized Racism

Full disclosure, this blog post is brought to you by yet another ::sigh:: White lady. I fully acknowledge the privilege that I have as said White woman and want to make it very clear that by no means am I an expert on anti-racism work. But as a person who often considers this idea, I wanted to share my thoughts, behaviors, and actions when I find myself thinking, “I want to do something, but I don’t know what to do.”

My Journey

I wish I could tell you this dreamy version of using my White privilege to engage in anti-racism work for a long time, but just like unicorns that isn’t a reality. I’m an 80’s baby and I grew up with the notion of “I see no color,” and for well beyond what should have been acceptable, I held on to that notion thinking that I was being inclusive. But was that the truth? No. Was that helpful? Absolutely not. I could see that people I grew up with were Brown and Black and did not look like me, a White, blonde haired, blue eyed CIS female, but I didn’t truly see my peers and their complexity as fellow humans. I did not acknowledge their truths, their trauma, or their daily walks through life. That’s why “seeing color” is actually a good thing! It shows others that you see them, and how skin color could have affected their journeys. Read more in this great article why saying “I don’t see color” is harmful and because why not, here is another one: The Problem with Color Blindness and How It Upholds Racism.

Although I did not grow up anti-racist and engaged in this meaningful work, I did grow up developing deep compassion and empathy for others which led me to my career as a social worker. I’m big on resources; finding them, organizing them, linking people to what I think will be most helpful in relation to their particular scenario. So, tapping into that strength, you’ll find this post filled with different resources that I have found to be helpful on my own journey of engaging in anti-racism work and learning how to be a supportive ally. 

Check Your Bias

First, I implore you to take an implicit bias test to gather a sense of the hidden biases lurking in the dark shadows of your brain that you may not be aware of. We all have biases; some of us have more insight into them than others.  I believe it is important to check ourselves because, without awareness, implicit biases can do serious harm to others. Take the test and think about your results – were they shocking to you? Different or on point with what you expected? Then, dig. Dig deep into yourself and start to think about where these biases may have come from and how our unconscious attitudes lead us to engage in and maintain systems of institutionalized racism around us. Your next article, “Black Americans Overwhelmingly Say Unconscious Bias Is A Major Barrier In Their Lives,“ will provide you with more insight.

So after completing that test, I thought, “Ok. These are the implicit biases I have. Now what do I do?” I’ve found myself truly questioning what it is that I listen to, what I watch, what I read, who is in my social network, what businesses and restaurants do I frequent, and where does my money go. Are the writers of the shows you watch all white? Most definitely likely – a study done in October 2017 Race in the Writer’s Room found that, “Two-thirds of all shows had no Black writers in the writers’ room. Another 17.3% of shows had only a single Black writer in the writers’ room. The remaining 17.3% of shows had two or more Black writers in the writers’ room.  Across all writers on all shows—3,817 writers—only 13.7% were people of color, with only 4.8% Black writers.” Only 4.8% of the writers were Black! 

I encourage you to think about who the authors are of the books you love, who are the hosts of the podcasts you listen to, and what is being discussed; Make note if your children have libraries that include persons of color and there is representation in the books they read and the stories you tell. In addition, consider where you choose to spend your money. There is nothing wrong if your favorite matcha tea is from a White owned business. But, think of other ways to support a BIPOC owned business like following their pages on social media, sharing their content, or sharing the wealth by exploring new venues. Finally, what are your reasons for making your current choices? Is there space for change? Who am I allowing to shape my perspective and am I ok with that?

Support The Anti-Racism Movement

You may still be thinking, “Ok. I still just don’t know what to do!” Let me tell you, protesting is totally my thing, but I get that it’s not for everyone. Here is a valuable list that gives some wonderful resources of how to learn more about supporting the anti-racism movement: 21 Day Anti-Racism Challenge

I also really enjoy volunteering, but I’m mindful of how I do it and careful to not come from a White Savior Complex. In my world, volunteering looks like working with organizations and agencies that advocate for equity and human and social rights. The support I provide is more peripheral and genuine. I don’t take selfies! It is not my place to save anyone nor am I more of an expert than the community and individual themself on what they need.  

Belonging In Any Space

Another idea to consider is ensuring inclusion, belonging, and diversity among your places of work, worship, and community, and not just by including the one BIPOC present. Speak up when you see or hear racist behavior, be extremely mindful of microaggressions, and talk to your children about race. Black children aren’t too young to experience racism, and therefore, White children are never too young to learn how to combat it! Here is a list of recommended children’s books to get you started: 23 Children’s Books on Race

Now for some suggestions a bit closer to home, start to think about your relationships and friendships – do they serve you and your values? Are you talking about important issues in these circles? Or are your socially conscious conversations “controversial?” I enjoy watching Emmanuel Acho’s YouTube videos Uncomfortable Conversations with a Black Man because it makes me think about conversations I can and should have with those in my life. What are the values of the people in your social circle? Is the humanity of people a priority? While we’re at it, make sure you vote! Look into what your city, county, and state are doing towards police reform and training. Does your State allow “no knock warrants,” do they have “hate crime bills” or other policies/laws in place that allow police to get away with literal murder?  What about your local representatives – have they voted or supported racial and economic equity?

Donate! 

Lastly, put your money where your mouth is! Donate money! The Bail Project is one that I’m passionate about. Here is a listing of State and National Bail Funds if you’d like to support, but I encourage you to explore if there are local organizations near you doing good race-based work you would like to give back? Protests are important in enabling awareness, but policy is the key to change. There are so many organizations who are funding, fueling, and mobilizing policy change. They work diligently to fund movements by paying for transportation, resources, and, most importantly, their staff. They deserve a higher wage for the important work they do. Consider becoming a monthly sustainer to a local organization. For example, $10 a month might be more doable than $120 upfront. It goes a long way!

Your Commitment

I ask you to continuously reflect on your progress in your support for dismantling systemic and institutionalized racism. Check in with your fellow White allies and see where you gain a better perspective. My partner and I frequently reflect on our experiences. We make the effort to ask ourselves the following:

  • Were you the only white person in the room or at a function? 
  • Has there ever been a time for you when that was the case? And if not, how come?
  •  If you were, how did that feel? What perspective did that give you?

Do not put the burden of your progress on your BIPOC friends and family. If they are willing to be honest and offer constructive criticism, definitely welcome it with an open mind to growth but with our resources at hand, we are more than capable of finding the answers from experts on anti-racism training. Unfortunately, I can’t provide a golden path on what it means to be a perfect ally but I think we can all take steps to learning, being vulnerable, growing, having uncomfortable conversations and engaging in behaviors and actions that put you on that right path.

Ariel Rubinstein is a Licensed Clinical Independent Social Worker with over 15 years of experience working in a variety of settings.  She graduated with her MSW from Hunter College School of Social Work in 2011, during which time she was awarded the National Association of Social Workers – NY State Chapter Student of the Year. Ms. Rubinstein has served in multiple positions, including Acute Psychiatry, Intensive Case Management, Emergency Medicine, Primary Care, and Homeless Services. Ms. Rubinstein enjoys being a supervisor for Social Work students and engaging in work-based actions that focus on racial equality.

In her personal time, she enjoys volunteering with a variety of organizations, and is particularly passionate about fostering animals and finding forever homes for homeless dogs in Baltimore city. She actively looks for spaces where she can engage in racial and social justice movements and utilizing learning opportunities for growth. 

One thought on “Links for Learning: What Do I Do, When I Don’t Know What To Do To End Systemic And Institutionalized Racism

  1. Beautifully written. What an accomplished and compassionate woman!!!

    Diane Zalka 843-906-8184 Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started